Homing instinct

Today I went to IKEA. *shudder* I was not looking forward to that, but I’d finally identified somewhere that sold the kind of potato masher I wanted:

If you look closely you can see that this masher has one wavy line. It’s just a much better design than stupid plastic mashers and is far easier to wash. I’ve been on a masher mission for some weeks now. So yes, I traced one to IKEA and this morning I headed off to IKEA Edmonton. It actually wasn’t that bad – quite empty. I don’t know if it’s cos there are now several IKEAs in London, if it’s because it’s January (though the sale is still on) or if it’s because I got there relatively early (though 11am on a Saturday isn’t that early). Whatever. It was pleasant.

On the way back I went into the organic food shop on Park Road, at the bottom Muswell Hill itself, ‘Just Natural‘. I love them, they have all kinds of stuff – did you know you get an organic Nutella-type spread now? I shall buy some when I run out of jam. Mmmm. Anyway, I’ve now got virtually all-organic goulash cooking on the hob and some entirely organic scones baking in the oven. I’m kinda chuffed that I’ve now got enough organic stuff in my cupboards to be able to cook completely organic; I know it makes me rather insufferable but I don’t care! It’s tasty. And I’m now very aware that it’s Saturday night and I’m excited about what I’m having for dinner. Am I middle class now?

Also went to buy a fridge; I believe this makes me middle aged as well as middle class. The seal on my landlord’s fridge has never fitted properly and I’ve got sick of it always making the chugging sound when it cools down and going through electricity like nobody’s business. So, I went to Comet and bought this little beauty from Zanussi. It’s getting delivered next Sunday – all I have to do now is either persuade my landlord to take his away or figure out somewhere to store the damn thing. Pretty fridge. I like.

Oh. My scones have all expanded into one another – I need a larger baking tray.

2 responses to “Homing instinct

  1. Will January 21, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    You should have tried The Pantry in Crouch End – they’ve got a similar masher, all one piece of steel. I got one, it’s awesome. And no swedish furniture hassles attached.

  2. Rachel January 22, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    Dammit. And there was me thinking that to ask around would be spamming. I’m gonna know better next time.

Leave a Reply

