Nearly on holiday

The one bad thing about going on holiday is doing all the work you would otherwise have done while you were away. Yesterday and today I haven’t left work before 7pm, which pretty much sucks. You could ask why I’m blogging rather than going to bed, and I would answer – because I have to have to some sitting down time in the evening, you relentless bastard!

Anyway – good things about being away: I shall miss the release of The Da Vinci Code which is going to be an even bigger load of bollocks than the book (honestly, the man gets wind of the gnostic gospels and suddenly he’s a bleedin’ conspiracy expert).

Bad things about being away: I shall miss the final episode of Green Wing (not counting the Christmas special) and the conclusion of the Doctor Who Cybermen two-parter. I really hope I can set my video properly. I shall also miss Eurovision, which I always love for the voting (you could write a whole dissertation on the politics behind that; like how Greece and Cyprus always give each other full marks and never give Turkey anything, even that year Turkey won or did very well or something). But this year there is METAL in Eurovision! You’ve heard about Finland’s entry, right? The meat-faced rockers Lordi? I mean, it’s still Euro-metal, but it’s going to better than DJ Daz… maybe I can find a bar showing it. This is Slovenia, after all.

5 responses to “Nearly on holiday

  1. Helen May 17, 2006 at 6:08 am

    Surely they will have eurovision in your selcted holiday destination, it being european and all?

  2. kate May 17, 2006 at 8:35 am

    someone did do a study of eurovision voting patterns – it was in the paper a week or two ago. lemme see if i can find it ….
    ah here it is:
    http://arts.guardian.co.uk/comment/story/0,,1755805,00.html
    “Derek Gatherer of Glasgow University’s Institute of Virology has demonstrated mathematically what Terry Wogan has known for years: there are “patterns of collusive voting alliances” in Europe’s campest competition. The major forces of the moment are the “Viking alliance” of Scandinavian and Baltic states, and the “Balkan Block” centred around Croatia. Interestingly, however, Gatherer also identifies a short-lived period of entante musicale between France and the United Kingdom between 1975 and 1980, directly after the victory of Waterloo.”

  3. Rachel May 17, 2006 at 11:35 pm

    I bloody KNEW it!
    I’m just hoping that whatever random satellite channels my hotel room has, one of them’s showing Eurovision. They’ve got to be, surely?! I’ve watched it in Spain before now…

  4. Will May 21, 2006 at 2:35 am

    Finland won. I couldn’t be happier.
    Just goes to show that as soon as someone enters who isn’t middle of the road euro-pop spaz they win. Because the only reason euro-disco-pop bollocks is popular throughout Europe is because there is no alternative. Not because Europeans are all a bunch of muppets, as was commonly believed.
    And seriously, I know I say this every year, but since when has Israel been part of Europe?
    And we’ll never ever win because:
    1. Every song we enter is complete shite. (I felt embarrased whilst I was watching)
    2. We don’t live in a collectivised group of countries like ‘the Balkans’ or ‘Baltic states’ or ‘ex Russian provinces’. So no one will ever vote for us because they’re our friends. Although I thought the Balkans pretty much hated eachother, what with all the ethnic cleansing and whatnot.

  5. Rachel May 23, 2006 at 11:19 pm

    I was watching all the countries voting for their local buddies and getting very confused as well; what’s with Croatia and Slovenia and Macedonia voting for Serbia, after all the trouble Serbia put them through? And the Baltic countries HATE Russia – the guidebook to Estonia said basically, if you know Russian, don’t attempt to speak it cos it won’t go down very well. So what were they all doing giving 12 points to Russia? See, it all has potential for a very interesting thesis.

Leave a Reply

