That was the call…

That was the call I’ve been waiting for all day. The flat I was due to see tonight has gone under offer and it’s off the market. Apparently there’s a problem extending the lease so, not as perfect as it seemed (so the agent tells me after I’m no longer a contender), but this is is ridiculous. There’s, like, I don’t know, maybe 20 or 30 other people out there after the same trickle of flats that I am? I’d take time off work and have a few solid days viewings but there aren’t the flats available to make it worthwhile; I’d just end up spending a few days sitting around twiddling my thumbs. I am disheartened and downtrodden.

3 responses to “That was the call…

  1. Jamie June 2, 2006 at 9:44 am

    You’re blog has just turned into a flathunting aramadrama.
    Post about something else too!

  2. Mark Kenhard June 2, 2006 at 10:56 am

    I feel your pain, i feel your shame.
    Why has channel 4 not got a programme devoted to Failed Moves – 1 in 4 never complete!
    I failed to buy the house we wanted – it cost me £1,100 in fees!
    Next time i think i’ll just pretend to buy one, be anxious for 2 months but save myself the cash. Virtual moving is the way forward.

  3. Rachel June 2, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    I’ll post about something else when something else happens to me! You, you lucky little renters, don’t have to sit there and have the realisation slowly dawn that in the last month, prices have jumped £10k and out of your reach! Hmm, people are going for ‘fake’ kidnappings now aren’t they, to give themselves a thrill? Why not create a business out of the ‘moving experience’? “Our highly trained Experience Roleplayers will genuinely make you believe you’re talking to an estate agent! Burn with frustration as they try to persuade you to view a property two towns away from your preferred area! Lock yourself in the toilets to cry when you receive a call to say you’ve been gazumped! Walk or drive around aimlessly for twelves weekends in a row! In the rain! Cost: £2k, still less than a failed move!”

Leave a Reply

