Who needs Hampstead?

Had three more viewings today, all of which were just… meh. I think I’m going to borrow Kate’s phrase, and say that I no longer feel like I’m flathunting, I feel like going to look at other people’s houses in my spare time is just what I do now. Anyway, there may be hope… the nice weather seems to be encouraging people to put their houses on the market, and the World Cup may dissuade as many buyers from going to viewings. I want to watch the World Cup myself, but the dedication to finding somewhere to live comes first, painful though it may be to admit. As it is I think I’m going to have to widen my search area again (watch me getting pushed further south and east as this has gone on) cos the dearth of garden flats has pushed up the prices again.

Got caught completely unawares by the weather though – I knew it was going to be sunny but I hadn’t realised just how hot it was going to be. Visited Kate and Nick and enjoyed their back garden for a while, and about 4pm I decided to investigate Blackheath. Oh my God. I had no idea somewhere so lovely existed in that corner of London! OK, so there’s Greenwich, but Greenwich is overrun with tourists. Blackheath is just… you know that game you play with yourself, "if I had lots of money where would I live?" For me it used to be Primrose Hill or Hampstead, or Duke’s Avenue in Muswell Hill. Now I think it may be Blackheath – it’s got that upmarket villagey vibe but without the snobbish feel. Has it happened? Has the unthinkable actually happened? Have I turned into a – *gasp* – South London convert?

Anyway, I am now roundly sunburned and my arms are glowing. Stupid girl.

3 responses to “Who needs Hampstead?

  1. Jamie June 6, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    Arrghhh! 4000 posts regarding flats and houses. This blog needs some other info otherwise it’ll be like viewing an Estate Agents website.
    How about a rant on work? Or people in supermarkets? Or comments about music?
    Blogging? Piece of cake!

  2. Rachel June 6, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    Out of all the posts on this page, 11 are nothing to do with flathunting. Do you only read the first post?

  3. kate June 7, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    don’t worry rach, it’s just a defensive north londoner trying to fight the dawning realisation that he lives on the wrong side of the Thames.

Leave a Reply

