Reviewed

Had my annual review at work today, and it was possibly the least nerve-wracking one I’ve ever had. Much better than one at a previous employer, about three months after I’d been diagnosed with depression:

Manager: "You’re emotional and you had a couple of outbursts a few months ago."
Me: "Well, that’s symptomatic of depression. I am getting treatment and should improve."
Manager: "We want you to have improved within one month or we’ll give you a ‘failed’ rating and you won’t get a pay rise."
Me: "I honestly can’t promise you that. I have no idea how long I’ll take to recover fully."
Manager: "Are you deliberately trying to be difficult?"
Me: "…"

It’s paraphrased, but you get the gist…

2 responses to “Reviewed

  1. Nick June 29, 2006 at 10:38 pm

    Wow. That’s shit. They are lucky you didn’t sue their arses off. Shame they’d never heard of the DDA! A lot of employers are now very jumpy about that one.

  2. Rachel June 30, 2006 at 12:47 pm

    What’s quite ironic is that they had a head of ‘Diversity’ who had been making sure everyone had training in disability awareness… what I suspect happened was that my manager, who was incredibly insecure, decided to have a go at me in what should have been a vulnerable position and they refused to back down, even when I got the Union and the DDA to wave at them… eventually we contacted the head of Diversity and she said “that’s shit, tell them to reverse it”. Took about six months though – good job the antidepressants had started to take effect by then, eh, otherwise it could have been an over-the-edge job for me…

Leave a Reply

