What the hell am I supposed to feed the cat?

I spent yesterday morning checking out pet shops and cat food (not all morning, obviously, I’m not that slow a reader). And I was quite surprised to read the ingredients on some of the food. Of the wet food, one brand lists glucose as an ingredient. Why are they filling my cat with empty sugar energy? Cats can’t taste sweetness so it’s not even there to make it tasty for them. And another was "82.5% moisture". Alright, it’s wet food, but if I want to give my cat water I’ll give him a bowl of it. And just what is a meat or fish "derivative"? Based on ingredients alone I bought a couple of bags of Iams, but then remembered that my mum had said there’s apparently some ethical issues with them. Perhaps Hill’s Science Plan is the option to go for, but it’s damn expensive and I’ll probably have to have it delivered or lug the huge bags from the pet shop. Out of the wet food, Whiskas looked the least offensive (male cats tend not to drink as much water as they should) but it doesn’t look as ‘good’ for kitty as the dry food.

It’s a fucking cat, it shouldn’t be a minefield. Damn me and my stupid ethics.

17 responses to “What the hell am I supposed to feed the cat?

  1. Nick July 2, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    We get Science Plan for the cat. It is expensive however, but we have no other choice. She was fed Science Plan before we got her and now it is all she will eat. She refuses all other foods, including any sort of treat.
    I ended up just ordering a couple of 5Kg bags off the net. It is a lot less hassle that way.

  2. kate July 2, 2006 at 9:37 pm

    sorry to tag-team on your blog πŸ˜‰ but yeah, science plan is pretty damn good. don’t, whatever you do, for for whiskas, it’s like kitty crack, once they’ve had it they won’t go for anything else and apparently it plays havoc with their digestion. wet foods in general, apparently, are pretty bad for their, um, poo, you get a lot more smelliness according to my sister, who worked through all this with her cats. they’re now on science plan.

  3. Jamie July 2, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    Stop being so middle class and give the fucker a can of Whiskers.

  4. Jamie July 2, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    Stop being so middle class and give the fucker a can of Whiskers.

  5. Rachel July 3, 2006 at 11:00 am

    Ah, it’s always fun when the cat decides it will only eat the most expensive food going. I may ditch the iams and start with Science Plan from the get go. Will ask tonight when I see (squeeee!) how much water he’s been drinking though, in this weather it might be wise to give him wet food as well. Will’s an advocate of wet food. And he’s the one cleaning up the poo πŸ™‚

  6. Rachel July 3, 2006 at 4:31 pm

    Hmm. Mate who works here also feeds his cat Science Plan. How come I’d never heard of it before? It sounds brilliant.

  7. kate July 3, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    AND, a further plus for scienceplan, it’s the only catfood our vet sells. so it must be good.

  8. Rachel July 3, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    Yeah, that’s how bloke-from-work gets his. I think dry, healthy food is the way forward, especially as Kitty has turned into a gutlord…

  9. Will July 4, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    Rosie has whiskas all her life and lived to the ripe old age of 18.

  10. Will July 4, 2006 at 3:12 pm

    It’s just wrong to give cats dry food, think about what they would eat in the wild.

  11. kate July 4, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    i doubt very much that so many vets would recommend and sell dry food if it’s ‘just wrong’ for cats.
    it depends what suits your cat, doesn’t it. i know vets often prescribe wet food for cats with bladder infections, and older cats, to ensure they get enough moisture, but there’s absolutely nothing wrong with giving a cat dry food if it prefers it.
    perhaps you should put some wet and dry food down for elgar and see which he goes for?! ‘taste test’.

  12. Rachel July 4, 2006 at 11:33 pm

    Yeah, we fed Felix on wet food and he lived to 19. But if I’d thought about it, I’d probably have pondered something with better quality ingredients. And in the wild, cats probably don’t eat nice chunky processed meat derivative in jelly πŸ˜‰ The fosterer says Elgar eats pretty much anything, which is presumably why he’s so fat. I’m not opposed to wet food, I just want to make sure he’s fed appropriately while he’s being kept indoors – I’d prefer a mix of wet and dry because of the whole ‘male cats not drinking enough water’ thing, but he’s turned into a lardbucket on a diet of wet food, plus its easier to measure dry. Those pouches and trays are created for active, outdoor cats who are burning off energy. Anyway, these dry foods are fairly new, aren’t they, they weren’t around when we were feeding our childhood cats, doesn’t mean we shouldn’t embrace progress. Plus, dry foods are better for their teeth. Dentals cost a fucking fortune and involve knocking kitty out completely. Oof.

  13. Rachel July 8, 2006 at 11:29 am

    Because crashing Leo’s funeral is bad, and some people evidently feel the need to have another word after the final one, moved comments are below…

  14. Will July 8, 2006 at 11:29 am

    Surely liver is as much a meat derivative as lungs? As a species we’re just really squemish about certain things.

  15. Will July 8, 2006 at 11:31 am

    But you know that wasn’t a row right? It was just a discussion about catfood.

  16. Rachel July 8, 2006 at 11:32 am

    It’s a row when we’re talking about my baby-kitty’s welfare *grumble* *grumble*

  17. Anne Truthe December 1, 2015 at 3:51 am

    Literally nobody seems to know a legit answer to this question….not even the vet. It’s annoying it really is. Doesn’t seem like any of it is good so I give up and I will just feed them whatever is available or affordable. Probably switch it up as they allow me too so they don’t become too dependent on one thing or the other. This is really starting to get stupid. As I sit here and read how Blue Buffalo and Purina are suing each other. I am over it. Unless it is canned rodent or mouse flavored gibs I cannot reasonably believe any of it is part of a cat’s normal diet even these “homemade natural foods” people are creating every other day. Cat’s hunt rodents and little critters. Who has seen a cat hunt a duck, chicken, or cow? I throw in the towel and waive the white flag. I do not know what kind of people food is good anymore either. Who knows. Guess asking for blessings over my food is gonna end up being way more important to me now than ever before, it is simply the only thing any of us can do.

Leave a Reply

