Pluto

It’s an astronomy geekfest at the moment! Lots of wrangling over whether Pluto should be a planet or stripped of its title and relegated back to the position of ‘random orbiting rock’. God, I loved space when I was a kid, I used to pore over this huge book with pictures of the solar system and explanations of how stars are made. So, for all the geek kid in all of us, here are some internet resources to flick through while we wait for the Pluto decision.

8 responses to “Pluto

  1. kate August 15, 2006 at 8:39 am

    it’s not a ‘random orbiting rock’, it’s a kuiper belt object. and i have the open university planetary science course result to prove it!

  2. Rachel August 15, 2006 at 9:43 am

    Yeah yeah. They’re all random orbiting rocks if you want to think about it like that. Apart from the gas giants of course. Now they’re cool.

  3. Anonymous August 15, 2006 at 12:23 pm

    Did you ever have to pick a planet for a class presentation? I had to when I was ten. I got Neptune which I thought was pretty cool.

  4. Nick August 15, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    Above comment was me btw. Forgot to add name.

  5. Rachel August 15, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    No, my school was rubbish.
    *sulks*

  6. Rachel August 16, 2006 at 11:18 am

    Hang on, hang on: according to the Guardian today, Pluto gets to become a “pluton” rather than a planet – a “pluton” being an object that orbits a star without being a star itself, and be big enough for gravity to pull it into a spherical shape. And then the article goes on to say that Charon, Pluto’s moon, is one of the new plutons.
    A MOON, by definition, orbits a PLANET, surely? OK, so apparently there’s some debate over whether Charon and Pluto form a ‘double planet‘ – well, what does it orbit? Pluto or the Sun?
    Is everything I learned as a kid nonsense?

  7. kate August 16, 2006 at 2:08 pm

    pluto and charon (as a unit) orbit the sun. charon previously was thought to orbit pluto but actually they’re a double planet, ie. spinning round each other.
    i can lend you my planets book if you like!

  8. Rachel August 16, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    I don’t care if this makes me sound like a geek, but yeah I’ll borrow your planets book! Let me move first though šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

