Now I feel old

Tomorrow is A Level results day, and it’s ten years since I got my own. God, I feel old. And to make matters worse, I’ve found myself defending my own hyper-inflated grades on the basis that ‘it was harder to get As back then!’ (this is the point where I make you all hate me: I got four A grades. And I didn’t work hard at all – for English I did one morning’s revision, I think. But when you spend two years reading the same six books it’s not hard to remember the damn things! I can still quote from Coriolanus and UA Fanthorpe even now. And you have no idea how much I’d give to not be able to). It’s not hard to think they’re a doddle.

That’s the point where you hate me.

A whole decade ago. I wonder if I’d realised that, on the anniversary, I’d be building a workflow database, checking PDFs for expiry dates and generally shouting at people, I’d have bothered…

5 responses to “Now I feel old

  1. Nick August 17, 2006 at 12:57 am

    “That’s the point where you hate me.”
    Happy to oblige since I got BCD! And one of those was for Media Studies, so I basically only have 2 A levels.
    My D was in English Lit. (damn you Hardy, damn you Duffy and damn you E. Bronte).
    Out of intrest did you find that all the material you had to read involved misery of one form or the other? I can’t remember ever being given something to read that was any way joyful. GCSE English everything seemed to be about irony, A-Level English everything seemed to be about suffering.

  2. kate August 17, 2006 at 10:23 am

    i got AAC and an A for AS business studies, which was the easiest course in the world. ‘a business makes widgets. each widget sells for Β£1. each widget costs Β£1.10 to make. what should the business do to improve its balance sheet?’
    eeeeeeerm, cut costs or raise prices. duh.
    10 years huh? way to go making me feel decrepit, thanks! πŸ˜›

  3. Rachel August 17, 2006 at 10:35 am

    We actually did Huckleberry Finn for A Level English Lit (dumbing down? noooooo) which made ME want to kill myself if that counts? Actually, The Rape of the Lock was quite funny – we seemed to do random texts that would never be called ‘classics’ (apart from maybe Othello), and you know, I can’t even remember the sixth one. It should have been a novel (two Shakespeare, two poets, two novels) but cannot remember for the life in me. Obviously left its mark.

  4. Rachel August 17, 2006 at 11:19 am

    DEATH OF A SALESMAN! Not a novel at all then. And definitely full of misery πŸ™‚

  5. Anonymous August 17, 2006 at 12:14 pm

    Yeah we did Othello.
    The Good:
    Streetcar Named Desire
    Othello
    Hamlet
    The Great Gatsby
    The “please pull my teeth out slowly with pliers instead of making be read this stuff” Bad:
    Return of the Sodding Native
    Wuthering Slit My Wrists Now Heights
    And anything by Duffy
    Always wanted to see Death of Salesman. Looks good.

Leave a Reply

