Northern (Line) monkeys

I cannot wait to get off the Northern Line. Last week I managed to be delayed so often and so badly I applied for around four sets of refunds. How hard is it to work out, that if you send four Edgware trains in a row up the Charing Cross branch it’s going to get quite busy at Camden when all the Barnet people cross over? I’ve lived and/or worked off the Northern Line the whole six and a half years since I moved to London and in the past I’ve loved to hate it. These days I just hate it. When I move I’m commuting by train and bus.

5 responses to “Northern (Line) monkeys

  1. Will August 22, 2006 at 12:03 am

    I may be moving office, meaning I’ll never have to get on a tube train again. Hurrah!

  2. kate August 22, 2006 at 9:16 am

    remember when there was that derailment at camden and the two branches of the northern line ran seperately for weeks? that was just after i moved off the northern line! every time i’ve been on it since i moved to south london, it’s been shockingly bad. i swear, you will NOT regret it!

  3. Nick August 22, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    6 1/2 years? Does that mean you moved after they had replaced all the old rolling stock and there were only the new trains?
    Amazingly enough the Northern Line has improved. The old trains were absolutely delapidated. Here is a pic of the 1962 stock that was previously used.
    http://www.trainweb.org/districtdave/html/62_ts_1.html

  4. Rachel August 22, 2006 at 11:05 pm

    I have used those trains but before I moved properly… I keep reminding myself of the old trains whenever I get an old District Line train. Or any Victoria Line train.

  5. Nick August 23, 2006 at 12:26 am

    Funnily enough the District line isn’t actually old. District line is D stock which was introduced in 1979. The reason why it looks old is becaue when the major re-furbishments were carried out in the mid 90’s the District line was deemed to be too young for the money to be invested. Viccy line is old though as it was introduced in 1967, making it the oldest rolling stock introduced still in service.
    Part of the major re-furb was introducing standard corporate livery. Along with re-ferb’d interiors it can make very old trains look surprisingly new. Take the Piccadilly line. Few would guess that the stock underneath all the paint actually dates from 1973.
    And yes I realise that I am very sad for knowing all this!

Leave a Reply

