Ho hum

With a great salary comes great responsibility. Apparently. This could be the only reason why I’m diligently still sat at work waiting for some PDFs to be sent my way, as well as why I took my laptop home and did a few hours over the weekend. Why is it that, whenever you plan to take some time off work, there’s always a massive rush with multiple pressing deadlines? Where was all this work over the summer when we were all drumming our fingertips on the desktop? So I’m juggling several projects and trying to mock up various web pages and write sparkling copy, despite it being a Monday and yet again I failed to get to sleep before 1.30am. (Note to self: weekend lie-ins are marvellous, but they play havoc with the body clock.)

*checks email* Still nothing. I could be here a while. Mundanities are running through my head; I fancy pizza for tea, I need to buy juice, is ‘mundanities’ a word… I am entertaining myself with my in-brain iPod. The mental Ohrworm shuffle is a wonderful thing. Right now it is ‘Unintended Love Song’ by The Buzz after yesterday’s downloading session and The Raconteurs‘ ‘Hands’ (excellent website).

Last member of my team just went home. The movement-sensitive office lights keep switching themselves off and plunging me into darkness (the sensor that controls the lights above my head isn’t positioned near me. I am contemplating getting a large foam ball that I can throw in its general direction, or setting up a system of pulleys and levers that will wave something near ceiling height, so I don’t have to keep getting up and taking two steps into the walkway).

Still nothing in my email. I may go to the toilet now. That should kill some time.

3 responses to “Ho hum

  1. Ant September 4, 2006 at 7:47 pm

    Sadly, anything you rig up to trigger the light has to be made of live meat (you know, like people are). PIR detectors don’t take any notice of foam balls or ceiling fans, or anything which isn’t alive or on fire.
    I take it Will still has Elgar?

  2. Rachel September 4, 2006 at 11:29 pm

    What an excellent threat! “Try sleeping on my pillow again, cat, and I’ll start throwing you around in my office.”

  3. kate September 5, 2006 at 9:14 am

    yeah we have those movement-sensitive lights too. when i was being injuncted i was in the office at 10pm with my boss working on our legal brief IN THE DARK.
    yeah it’s so worth our company paying all those management fees to work in the tallest building in britain.

Leave a Reply

