Homeless tramp

I’m officially homeless. The removal men came and took away all my stuff yesterday morning and I’m now sponging off Kate and Nick. (Incidentally, the concept of someone moving home with no proper forwarding address seemed to be beyond TalkTalk. I spoke to eight different people when I rang up to tell them; they couldn’t decide whether I had to talk to the Moving Home department or the Cancellations department. And Endsleigh charged me £6 for the privilege of cancelling my contents insurance, which I had no choice over because they don’t do storage cover. *sigh*)

Anyway, there’s now a partner dealing with the vendor’s conveyancing, and she allowed my solicitor to listen to the shouting that happened between the partner and the vendor’s purchase’s solicitor (following? Oh good). Long and short – hopefully we can exchange Monday and complete by the end of the week. If we don’t there’ll be hell to pay. I refuse to trample on the goodwill of friends for much longer.

But this does mean I get to play with Tomasina. Normally I object quite strongly to cats sleeping on my bed, but now I realise this is because my cats have always been enormous beasties who want to sleep right here on my chest and stick their noses in my face every hour. Whereas a delicate little princess who curls up at the bottom of the bed is barely noticeable, and if she happens to wander in when I’m awake then a 3am cuddlefest isn’t out of the question, and she is also very happy to wake me up if I’m snoring. Which frankly provides a valuable social service and should be extended for the benefit of all my neighbours.

8 responses to “Homeless tramp

  1. Will September 10, 2006 at 11:46 pm

    You’re just gonna love Elgar then – he likes to share pillows. And also to wave his bum in your face before sitting down within hair breathing range, and helpfully wake you up when he’s hungry by licking parts of your face that should really only be licked by intimate acquaintances of the same species.

  2. kate September 11, 2006 at 9:24 am

    aw, i bet you’re gonna miss him when he’s moved, will!

  3. Rachel September 11, 2006 at 9:48 am

    That’ll be one kitty that gets shut out of the bedroom at night then…

  4. Will September 11, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    Yeah I’ll miss him, and you can’t shut him out of the bedroom, he’ll get so depressed! Besides, you wouldn’t be able to put up with the meowing from the other side of the door…

  5. Rachel September 12, 2006 at 9:20 am

    One word: earplugs.
    Actually, I can’t even shut Tomasina out of the bedroom, so I’ll probably cave with my own kitty. This is the problem with not having a cat from kittenhood, you can’t train them up in my own personal neuroses, you end up fitting in around theirs…

  6. kate September 12, 2006 at 10:53 am

    if tomasina keeps waking you up, seriously, just chuck her out. nick’s back now, she can go sleep on him.

  7. Rachel September 12, 2006 at 11:55 am

    I may do before the big client meeting, but last nght it was the rain! Mmm, lovely rain on lovely in-keeping-with-the-character-of-the-area rooftops.

  8. Jamie September 12, 2006 at 7:12 pm

    Bloody cats.
    Aren’t all tramps homeless?

Leave a Reply

