What’s in a name?

It may come as some surprise to learn that Bagelmouse isn’t actually my name; but if it does then you may want to consider just how cruel you think my parents are. (Though my Dad did want to call me Mercedes; thankfully my Mum has common sense and, I imagine, gave him a withering stare. A Yorkshire lass called Mercedes! It’s just asking for a nickname like "Lada", isn’t it?)

My name is actually Rachel. Six letters, none repeated. Very simple. So why do so many people have problems with it? Why am I constantly called "Rachael"? Even (and this does annoy me) on email, when my name is very clearly spelled out in the address? Why do people insist on making extra work for themselves by adding the second "a"? It’s not even as if "Rachael" is the common spelling. Of all the Rachels I’ve known (and there are a lot of us out there), only one was spelt Rachael. Look at the evidence:

Where are the Rachaels? Rachael Hale, ‘amusing’ animal-picture photographer. OK, I’ll give you Rachael Leigh Cook, but that’s it.

Why? Do I look or sound or write like I’m some weird, complicated Rach(a)el? I even get Rachelle and Rochelle. It. Is. Surely. Very. Simple.

Isn’t it?

2 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. Rachel North December 3, 2006 at 7:38 am

    Exactly. And with an extra ‘a’ it sounds like Rachayel. Which is just wrong.

Leave a Reply

