Romance is dead

Could this be the worst album ever? Don’t even get me started on the Valentine’s Day tie-in – I have a whole other post to blast that one to smithereens – but look at that crap. Apart from the dodgy choices (Pulp excepted) it’s not even been put together by someone who knows what they’re talking about. There She Goes? Possibly the best known song about heroin this side of anything by Babyshambles. Chasing Rainbows? Tiny Tears? Read the bloody lyrics, they’re depressing songs! Olympian? Great track, but I do recall Martin Rossiter claiming it was about a gay relationship, citing "Give me something I can hold / With that something I will grow" as proof; perhaps the most tenuous reference to gay sex ever.

Anyway, a couple of the people on Comment is Free have the right idea: the most romantic song in the world is The Smiths’ There Is A Light That Never Goes Out. Fact.

2 responses to “Romance is dead

  1. kate January 29, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    god, is it valentines day already? and you’re not even going to be in town for it. gah, i’ll be on my own. what a pile of crap to come home to.

  2. Rachel January 30, 2007 at 9:43 am

    And what’s even better, I’ll be FLYING back from Cleveland on Valentine’s Day evening so I don’t even have to put up with any of the crap. I’ll be nipping out for pizza at Newark airport. Ha! Don’t think I haven’t planned this carefully. Seriously: Valentine’s Day = bullshit. I will post more.

Leave a Reply

