Toygers

This is just so wrong! A tiger/cat cross? I’ll never understand the, particularly American, love of pedigree animals. Talking to my US colleagues with cats, they’ll talk of their Maine Coons and their Bengals and ask me what my cat is. "Errr, a moggie," I reply, wondering why anyone would want anything else. Similar story with dogs – I much prefer a mongrel to an actual breed. Pedigrees are inbred to fuck, so they’re stupid and don’t live as long and have far more things go wrong with them. So why bother start up a new one?

3 responses to “Toygers

  1. Will March 11, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    I have wanted a bengal cat for like, ever. They’re apparently really affectionate, smart as hell, loyal and they look awesome.

  2. Rachel March 12, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Hmm. They still have a number of ‘pecularities’ common to the breed (inappropriateness of the peeing, territorial), and I just don’t think I could cope having a cat that I would pretty much have to expect to die much earlier than cross-breeds. It’s bad enough that I get Elgar at 6 years old, so the most I can expect is 14 years with him rather than a full-on 20.

  3. Nick March 13, 2007 at 9:54 am

    I agree sorta, especially about cats, but I would absolutely love a German Shepherd dog. They are wonderful animals; steady, loyal, intelligent and with the most magnificent ears.

Leave a Reply

