Moving house: redux

As of next Tuesday, my childhood home is no more. My parents finally (finally! Honestly, is there no end to the fannying about of people down the chain when there are houses to be moved in and out of?) exchanged contracts today – Mum actually squealed down the phone at me. You’d think I’d be more upset at the thought of the place I’ve thought of as ‘home’ for 21 years belonging to someone else, and in a way it’s going to be weird to know I’ll never go back; but let’s face it, I haven’t lived there properly for 11 years and couldn’t escape the North fast enough. Now when I go ‘home’ for the weekend it’ll be a quick flight to Spain rather than GNER from Kings Cross. But before that, I get to put my parents up for another week. This last eight months I think I’ve spent more time with them than I have in the last eight years.

We’ll probably end up killing each other.

2 responses to “Moving house: redux

  1. kate April 5, 2007 at 9:30 am

    That’s property ownership for you. It suddenly turns you into one of those grown-up types who do ‘family stuff’ with the rellies all the time. I imagine having kids has much the same effect.

  2. Rachel April 5, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    I think you only end up seeing so much of your family once you have your own place because you need them to come down and put up shelves for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

