Green fingers

I moved the lawn yesterday. This might not seem a very big deal, but it’s the first time I’ve ever cut the grass and I’m incredibly proud of myself. I wielded the lawnmower and didn’t chop my toes off or anything! I realise that people mow lawns every day and don’t expect a standing ovation and I won’t be bragging about it the next time I do it. But I still mowed the lawn. All by myself. And this weekend I’m off to Homebase for some edging shears.

I’m middle aged now. And incredibly proud of it.

6 responses to “Green fingers

  1. Nick May 25, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Nice one. What kid of mower do you have?

  2. Pete May 25, 2007 at 10:01 am

    Check the product out carefully before you buy – the homebase web page says they’re actually “Egding Shears”.
    It could be a typo, but on the other hand they could be specially designed for putting small dents in eggs.

  3. Rachel May 25, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    I have my Dad’s Old Mower That They Don’t Need Now They’re In Spain And Only Have A Terrace.
    Oh dear. I feel I have sadly let myself down in the gardening stakes. It’s a hover, and is orange. Is that a very girly thing to say?
    And maybe I want something huge to take the tops of my eggs… 🙂

  4. Jamie May 25, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    Well if I moved a whole lawn I’d be pretty proud of myself. Certainly more impressive than mowing it.

  5. Rachel May 26, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Well, yeah. You didn’t think I’d be ranting about if I’d only mowed it, surely? Chuh…

  6. kate May 27, 2007 at 9:49 am

    I mowed my lawn yesterday!!! It’s a great feeling of feminist liberation isn’t it. Well timed, too, as it started raining about 2 hrs after I finished.

Leave a Reply

