Oh rly?

Barclaycard cuts consumer credit limits. Meanwhile, the Halifax increases my credit card limit by £2k and extends my interest free period another five months (but only if I keep BUYING STUFF using it). Hmm, which bank is acting responsibly?

2 responses to “Oh rly?

  1. Will September 26, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    What about personal responsibility huh? Debt has now been added to the list of things that are someone else’s fault.
    “Oh I can’t afford my mortgage payments” well maybe you shouldn’t have lied about your income and got a 125% mortgage.
    “Oh I’m £30k in debt on store cards” well stop shopping at John Lewis when you’re on an Asda salary
    “Oh I’ve got all these overdraft charges” well stop going fucking overdrawn then!

  2. Rachel September 27, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Oi, I’ve been having personal responsibility rants on your website… actually I was thinking more in terms of the supposed liquidity crisis – if banks are having problems getting hold of cash, should they really be saying to their customers “go on! buy more stuff! buy it on us! go on!”
    But it’s also always very irresponsible to wander around giving people lots of credit when they don’t ask for it, especially when (if they’ve looked at my credit card and assessed my ‘needs’) it looks impossible to pay off and I probably look like I’m in trouble. What they don’t know is that it’s all other people’s money, ahahahaha…

Leave a Reply

