A reproof

This would be karma for whining about the cat. This morning I got up to find blood in his litter tray. Not just pinkish urine (though there was that too), I mean actual, deep red, blood.

Oh fuck.

The last living creature I knew that had blood in their urine eventually died of bowel cancer. (It’s one of the big signs.) An immediate call to the vet to book an appointment was followed by bursting into floods of tears, so scared that something might be seriously wrong, that I could lose him. Irrationally leaping to the worst case scenario is apparently what I do under that kind of pressure. Thankfully restored to something resembling calm by a text from Amy suggesting cystitis as a probable cause (me: ‘oh! of course! thank god! it doesn’t have to mean imminent death!’) – she’s getting very handy at these quick-response rescue texts (wait until I holiday-blog about Verona) – we arrived at the vet.

Vet with very serious face. "Urinary tract problems." Not even as reassuring as "urinary tract infection", a one-off thing that a quick jab of antibiotics can clear up. "Extremely serious if unchecked." Understanding nods as I list the many possible causes of stress El Mog has been under lately. Checks the psoriasis-like scabs along his spine that I’ve been wondering about getting checked. "If he’s the type of cat that has this kind of reaction to stress." Two injections. El Mog curled up into my stomach as the vet says more very serious things. New specially formulated food. Pheromone plug-ins to reduce stress. One owner feeling extremely guilty for going away twice in quick succession.

He’s going to be fine. He peed this afternoon and it was normal. And I feel reassured that this hasn’t been happening undetected because he has to use litter trays when I’m away (instead of peeing in the garden) and the cat sitter didn’t mention it.

He’s going to be fine. For now. Until it recurs. If it recurs. And I have to spot it. Generally, they say differences in routine indicate illness; but, as with most generalisations, there’s always something or someone or some cat that proves the exception. But there are things he was doing in the last 48 hours that I think I can watch for. I just have to spot them. Otherwise he might die.

He’s going to be fine.

4 responses to “A reproof

  1. Nick October 5, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Oh dear sounds horrible! Glad it tuned out ok though.
    I’m sure he will be fine. Just think of it as a drama queen flounce to get you firmly back under the paw.
    Scary how much pets can be affected by stress.

  2. Les October 8, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    I would have had the same worst-case-scenario panic too, so glad he’s doing ok.
    Those pheromone plugins are great, by the way. Expensive, but well worth it if you need to chill out your mog. We got one when we moved, and it really helped them settle in.

  3. Rachel October 8, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Yeah, FUCK me they’re expensive! Though, as only one part of the £130 bill, I shouldn’t complain too loudly… know anywhere cheap to stock up on refills?
    (I can’t believe I’m asking about dodgy, bacl-market, knock-off Feliway products. But you gotta do what you gotta do)

  4. Les October 10, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    You can get em off the internet though I don’t know of any links…
    The only reason we didn’t do that was that pets technically aren’t allowed in our rented accommodation, and we didn’t want a package plastered with “Feliway for your CAT!” to arrive at the central postroom, alerting the landlord to our misdemeanor.
    In our hunt for refills we went to a not-so-local pet superstore (spent a fortune on toys, treats and food) but they didn’t stock Feliway. It seems the only place you can normally get it is the vet, which explains how they get away with charging such a price.
    Good luck with the internets, and if you do find somewhere, let me know, as we’ll be needing some for when we move next.

Leave a Reply

