Something I made earlier

Now I’m nearly 30 it’s time to don the pinny and talk to you about recipes. No, really. I had the nicest dinner…

Set some pasta going, and cook (boil, steam, roast, whatever) and mash up some butternut squash with a bit of butter. Add to chopped, fried onions with some chopped garlic and grated parmesan. Add the cooked pasta to the squash and onion mix (add a bit of the pasta water if it’s too dry) and grate some nutmeg over the top. I chucked in some cherry tomatoes. Goddamn that was good food.

All I have to do now is learn how to bake. Have I told you my theory that people can either cook, or bake, but not both? I put it down to baking needing a more precise and methodical manner than cooking, where you just shove anything into a pan and see how it goes. I’m going to try to bake parkin at the weekend; I’ll let you know how much of a disaster it is.

3 responses to “Something I made earlier

  1. Nick December 4, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    I bake. I love baking. And I can’t cook. Well I can, but I can only cook recipes which I have examined in detail. I can’t do that thing of looking at a cupboard of god knows what and think that could be turned into something.
    I like the structure of baking – the precise measuring, and times and tin sizes. It adds to comforting good nature of a decent pudding.

  2. Kate December 5, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Oi, that’s my theory! I definitely told you that ages ago!

  3. Rachel December 5, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    I am a stealer of theories. Your theories are not safe with me!

Leave a Reply

