Role reversal

I’ve never had occasion to wish I was a man. Not the wage discrepancies, not the more immediate respect, not the being taller. But today I bought a Humax PVR9200TB. It is a gorgeous, gorgeous machine, and I just spent a happy thirty minutes swathed in cables and gadgets being all James May. And as I read through the manual and find out all the swishy things it can do, I do wish I were a man simply so I could spunk in my pants at just how gorgeous it is.

But then, if I were a man, I wouldn’t have read the manual.

10 responses to “Role reversal

  1. Pete December 31, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Well, it certainly seems to have a few features my ageing Tivo hasn’t got. On the other hand, I’ve always suspected the Tivo has loads of useful features that most PVR boxes don’t bother with.
    Can your new toy scan the upcoming schedules for programs you like and automatically schedule them for recording? Most people I’ve asked say getting their PVR to simply record the Daily Show every evening kicks off a groundhog day scenario of manual programming.

  2. Rachel December 31, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    I’d swear blind I’ve read that the Humax (btw, pronouncing that Hummux, an in-gag Liz has bountifully passed on) can record series, but haven’t found the bit of the manual where that exists – if, indeed, it does. But it gets software updates over the air, so one day that might happen. If it doesn’t already. So that’s my New Year’s Eve sorted then…

  3. kate January 1, 2008 at 9:38 am

    it gets software updates over the air? freaky. one step closer to the world in which a malign superintelligence can command all the machines to ‘kill kill kill’ …. sorry, i’m getting all ‘2008: technology odyssey’ ….

  4. Jamie January 1, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    There’s only one James May and that’s Will Webster.

  5. Rachel January 1, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Oh yes, I’m convinced that one of these days they’ll receive the order to rise up and we’ll all be killed. When was Skynet supposed to become active again?

  6. Will January 1, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    1996 I think so we’re safe. Do I need a PVR? I’m not convinced. I don’t want to become a slave to TV series’. They’re all shit after the second season anyway.
    And cock off Jamie. Or should I say Richard Hammond?

  7. kate January 1, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Who’s Clarkson then?

  8. Rachel January 1, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Oi! Don’t sully the good name of Richard Hammond.
    I didn’t think I’d need a PVR all that much, but I’m surprised at the amount of stuff I’m taping even over the last 24 hours. No more agonising over what to watch when there’s two things on at the same time. Hit the Humax and off you go!

  9. Nick January 1, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    It sounds like a good compliment to DL’ing stuff via torrentz. DL’ing entire series in one go can take awhile sometimes.

  10. Jamie January 2, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Hahaha, James May.

Leave a Reply

