Gardener’s question time

The earth seems to think it’s spring already. I took these photos in my garden yesterday:

Dsc00965
Dsc00968
Dsc00967_2
Dsc00973

The irises shouldn’t be in full bloom for another month, the crocuses are appearing before the snowdrops that I know are in the garden somewhere, christ only knows what the chives are doing re-growing so early and the last is a dwarf daffodil about to open, but opposite Catford Homebase there’s a load of fully opened daffs, brazenly showing off in the January air. And there’s a fuschia in a sheltered corner that carried on flowering right through winter. I have no idea what’s going on. We’ve had a mild winter, sure, but has it really been that mild? I know, I know, one set of early daffodils does not a climate change prove…

2 responses to “Gardener’s question time

  1. Nick January 28, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Think about though: when was the last time you felt proper, bighting cold? And not just as part of a cold snap, but days on end of low tempretures.
    I know this is London and therefore always warmer but this is ridiculous. It feels like years since we have had a proper Winter. It’s not right.

  2. Rachel January 28, 2008 at 10:04 am

    I can actually answer that – if was March 2005, cos I’d just started my new job and I remember being frozen solid for a month. But that was March, and another freak. The last time I saw decent snow was when I was very small.

Leave a Reply

