Ashes to ashes

Sorry everyone. I think the Camden fire was my fault… see, I was wandering round Greenwich market yesterday and thinking how much nicer it is than Camden. There’s the usual markety stuff, the cheap jewellery and dodgy niknaks, the vintage clothing and second hand CDs, but you don’t have to kick half the tourists in the UK out of your path to get at them. And there’s nicer stuff – stuff that won’t fall apart in a month – and fabulous organic shops, a retro sweet shop and a place where they made me a milkshake with real Oreos. And a sushi stall that’s unauthentic enough for me to eat the sushi (man, I’m going to hate Japan aren’t I?). And a stall that sells 20 different kinds of coffee. I don’t drink coffee, but I like to know it’s there. And then you can wander around the Royal Naval College or the park up to the Observatory. And nobody tries to sell you drugs. It’s the alternative to Camden for when you get sick of wading through public schoolkids trying to be emo with their fake nose studs and their Nirvana t-shirts even though they weren’t even fucking born when Kurt blew his brains out. And as I ate my maki rolls in the sunshine by the Thames, listening to the noises floating out of the University’s music practice rooms, I thanked the heavens that I had found a place that meant I never had to go back to Camden again.

Did I jinx it?

10 responses to “Ashes to ashes

  1. kate February 10, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Yes!!!!! That was our HOME goddamit!!!

  2. Will February 10, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    I’ve loathed Camden Market my entire life, even back when I was wandering around in a Kurt Cobain t-shirt. Actually I never had one, but if I did, I’d have had one before he died.
    It’s always been a cesspit. Full of twats in big hats and drug dealers. I hope they build a huge Starbucks in it’s place, that’ll learn ’em.
    Also the Hawley Arms became massively shit after famous people started hanging out there, so no great loss there either.
    All in all a good day for North London really.

  3. Rachel February 11, 2008 at 10:19 am

    I think I started to hate Camden about six months after moving there… shame, really.

  4. kate February 12, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    God, you two are so cynical you make me feel like Jamie. Ugh …

  5. Rachel February 12, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Possibly not so much cynical when it comes to Camden – my hatred started to grow because of my hatred of crowds, I think. I can’t. Stand. Crowds.

  6. Will February 13, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Moving to London not perhaps the best course of action then was it?

  7. Rachel February 13, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    What a silly comment! All Londoners have finely tuned avoidance tactics for Oxford Street, certain tube stations at rush hour and, if you’re not in the mood for it, Camden market. There’s a big difference between living somewhere with a lot of people and throwing yourself headlong into a crush of people.

  8. Will February 13, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Ah but we wouldn’t need the avoidance techniques if there weren’t all the people around, aye? Think about it. Woah.
    Can you tell I’m sick of London yet? That Dr Johnson didn’t know what he was talking about. He wasn’t even born in London, the muppet.

  9. Rachel February 14, 2008 at 9:48 am

    People in themselves aren’t so bad. It’s when they turn into fecking sheep I have a problem with them.
    Or do I mean I have a problem with tourists?

Leave a Reply

