Foot update

For anyone who’s interested, the incredibly attractive big plastic boot came off at the end of December and my foot has finally reached the point where it’s not even particularly sore and I’ve completely stopped limping. I even ran for the train the other day. I never saw the images of the bone when it was in its full-on broken state, but here’s an x-ray as it was starting to heal:

If you look closely at the circled bit you can see a lighter area at the side of the bone… I’d always assumed that a hairline fracture would be like snapping a digestive biscuit in two – a clean break straight across. But it seems that this bone splintered along the length, rather than the width, and was probably getting deeper and wider the more I was walking around. Ugh. The whole idea of it makes me physically shudder (there, I just did a shudder now). I’m so glad I didn’t know the truth at the time.

2 responses to “Foot update

  1. Nick February 10, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    It’s really cool how with a foot X-Ray you can see how the big toe has gone from being opposable to the position it is in now by the fact that it is at such at diagonal angle. Not only that but you can also see that as a consequence of swing round the bone has had to thicken to take the additional stresses.

  2. Rachel February 11, 2008 at 10:21 am

    *ahem* That diagonal angle is also largely due to my bunions…

Leave a Reply

