A world away

Occasionally, just occasionally, working for Megacorp Inc. has its plus points. I just got back from one of them. Normally the phrase "away day" is enough to strike fear into the hearts of even the most doughty employee – but then in my experience away days never happen at places like this. This, my friends, is where they filmed the mini break scenes in Bridget Jones’s Diary (see Hugh Grant falling in the lake; or the whole mini break section – in Spanish). I mean, I’m the sort of girl who doesn’t mind spending the odd night in a B&B with shared bathrooms, so this stuff blows my mind:

Dsc01000
Dsc01001 Dsc01007

And it’s a strange day when you find yourself trying to decide whether a bathroom is larger than your own living room.

Dsc00996
Dsc00997

I’m not posting these photos just to show off. Though that is, of course, an important part of it. You’ve got to realise – this is not my world. So when I came back after dinner and found that not only had someone been in to turn down my bed (what is that about, anyway? Turndown? I’ve been getting into my own bed my whole life, do hotels honestly believe I’m going to get so drunk I’ll attempt to get into bed from the bottom?), but they’d also thoughtfully placed the TV remote on the turned down sheet.

Dsc01002 That did cause a confused moment or two of the "wtf? I know I put it down over here… oh god, am I drunker than I thought?" variety. They’d also put down the mats in front of the bath and shower. I’m sure these are the touches one expects when one goes to such an establishment, but they make this one feel a bit odd…

Dsc01012Buckinghamshire was shrouded in thick fog this morning which meant the view from my window was actually a bit like being in The Others. You know – spoiler alert – after they’ve died and the fog stops them leaving the house.

Dsc01008
But we still trekked out to the park, be-hatted and be-gloved, which you can do when you’re not ghosts; because, damnit, when someone else is paying I’m going to damn well make the most of it. Damned peasant that I am.

It’s been a weird 24 hours.

7 responses to “A world away

  1. Kate February 21, 2008 at 9:58 am

    But did it build a team, goddamit?!
    I wish companies would just GIVE US THE MONEY instead. It’d engender far more good feeling towards our employers.

  2. Nick February 21, 2008 at 10:25 am

    ‘Turndown’ your bed!?
    Learn something new every day…
    That bridge pic is very cool.

  3. Rachel February 21, 2008 at 10:41 am

    It was actually quite useful. Hang on – no. It will only have been useful if it changes anything. The thing about away days is that they’re good days in themselves, and everyone comes up with great ideas but then they all get forgotten when we get back to the office. I have slightly higher hopes than usual for this one, our boss is a good guy and seems genuinely interested in moving things forward.

  4. Will February 21, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Hang on, are you saying that normal people don’t live like this? :-S

  5. Nick February 21, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Do you live so pleasantly,
    live a life of luxury, lazing on a sunny afternoon then Will?

  6. Rachel February 21, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Of course he does. He lives in Muswell Hill, where the council tax pays for servants to come in and turn down the residents’ beds.

  7. Nick February 21, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    See that just makes me think of:
    “Oh no that bed won’t do, too uncomfortable, bring another”

Leave a Reply

