Calling all Londoners

Elections for London’s mayor and local assembly are 1 May (sorry, anyone who doesn’t live in our glorious capital – I’ll get back to blogging about cats very soon). So I thought I’d remind you to register to vote by 18 April because it’s very important that we don’t end up with Boris Johnson as Mayor of London. That’s Mayor of London, not Mayor of The Beano. Even though I think polls don’t exactly show Johnson leaping ahead, and even though the London voting system is probably skewed towards Ken (it’s the first and second preference voting system, kids – so you can vote for Paddick or Berry and when your first choice gets discounted because they’ll never get anywhere, your vote can be transferred on), I still get very antsy about even the teeny possibility of that twattish buffoon becoming Mayor.

I can imagine some people thinking it would be ‘a laugh’ to vote for Johnson, but to have a man who only shows up in Parliament half the time, is far less involved with and representative of London than the other main candidates (Henley? He can kiss my south-east London arse) and whose only remarkable quality is the exceptional bendiness required to get his foot into his mouth with such regularity, as Mayor would just be an embarassment. So. Register to vote. And then vote. Make damn sure it doesn’t happen. Unless you plan to vote for Johnson, in which case you can go here.

* picture from Cute Overload

3 responses to “Calling all Londoners

  1. Nick February 25, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I am afraid I will not be voting. I just can’t bring myself to put a cross by any of the proposed names.
    And yes Boris would be bad, very bad, but I really can’t stand Ken. On my long list of reasons are his cosying up to anti-Semites and his unfailing support of the London Olympics.

  2. Will February 25, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    It’s easy to overlook past achievements but I think Ken’s done well on at least getting the buses running on time.
    I couldn’t give a stuff about the congestion charge, but presumably Boris would oppose it. I think I’d be embarrassed having him as our mayor as well.
    But then Ken has also increased transport costs beyond reason and London is now the most expensive place in the world for public transport.
    Question is, would Boris do anything to reduce this? Probably not.
    In short I have no idea what either of their manifestos are. Although I do know that Ken has lied about his before.

  3. Rachel February 25, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    The thing about public transport costs is that TfL were hamstrung by PPP, which was imposed upon TfL over the express opposition of Livingstone.
    I don’t love Ken, and I don’t think he’s the most scrupulous man in the world and I think perhaps some of his judgements can be awry (though I think ‘cosying up to anti-Semites’ is a bit Evening Standard), but I do believe that if you cut him open he would have “London” written through him. And when it comes to Mayor of London I think that’s the most important thing.

Leave a Reply

