Things that are Goods

Rachel tagged me to tell you about seven things I think are Goods, which was a lovely surprise. Bagelmouse pwns the interweb! No, really, what with the Brockley Central thing it’s like the interweb has suddenly become my friend. Which makes me all ‘awww’.

Anyway. Seven things I think are positive. This has taken a while to come up with… some may say this is because I’m a miserable bastard who can’t see the positive in anything; I would reply that I just wanted to make sure I did it very very well. And shuttup.

1. Blood donation. More on this to come in the future, I hope
2. Lost in Translation

3. Unexpected classical music in public spaces
4. Egg custard tarts
5. People who prefer rational sense over indignant flaming (for example) (and another example)
6. Slovenia. Yes, the whole country.
7. Crockatt and Powell. I’m a bit surprised to find myself listing a shop (or rather, two people who run a bookshop) in a list of Good Things, but their enthusiasm (and sarcasm) is infectious, and the best books I’ve read recently have been books I’ve found only through them. Right now? Ghost Map, by Steven Johnson. I think I’m going to have a longer post on these things some time in the future. Argh, too many posts in my head, not enough time to sit here and spaf them out…

Consider yourselves tagged: Kate, Nick, Will, Jamie, Pearly Will for the re-animated Pearlyblog (mebbe), Pete, and Ant. Or Helen. Neither of whom will actually do it. Probably because they have lives.

4 responses to “Things that are Goods

  1. kate February 29, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    ANDALUSIA!!!
    But seriously though – having a great time out here, will give your request some serious thought, promise. And hahaha for tagging Nick, the miserable bastard. I bet at least one of his involves PC gaming …

  2. Lindsey March 1, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Blood donation – yes – drained my veins for the first time recently and survived. All those years of needle fear totally unnecessary then. I even rather enjoyed the fainting sensation on the tube although will remember not to repeat next time. And there will be many more next times.

  3. Rachel March 2, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    I really have the guilt about not ever having given blood. One of these days, soon, I will do it. No, really I will. It’s good to know someone who did it and didn’t drop dead afterwards… though I think I’ll take a Mars Bar with me. Do they still do the cup-of-tea-and-a-biscuit thing? Or is the biscuit nowhere near adequate?

  4. Lindsey March 3, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    First timers must have a cold squash drink and something to eat. I had crisps but the snacks were groovy. My main mistake was getting on the tube in rush hour afters and carrying my bag in that hand. Durr. Come with me, if you like. Those people there are brilliant.

Leave a Reply

