Cat psychology

Here’s a thing. If you stare at a cat, the cat interprets it as an act of aggression. This is why a cat will generally go to the only person that hates cats in a room full of people – that’s the only person not looking at the cat making stupid "tch-tch come here" noises and patting their legs. If you want to make friends with a cat, close your eyes or blink a lot. The cat thinks you’re being submissive and that he is now Top Cat.

Which is why, when I found myself glaring at the black-and-white-cat-with-the-enormous-head on Saturday after El Mog had caught sight of it and fled back in the house, I realised I’d accidentally got myself into a staring contest and if I got bored and wandered off, I’d have lost. And black-and-white-cat-enormous-head would think he had the run of my garden for his toilet. And so I took on El Mog’s supposed role of marking out territory, staring down that black-white-enormous-head cat until he wandered off in feigned insouciance. And was still there when black-white-head cat sauntered back up the garden.

HA! I am Top Cat.

Let’s face it, one of us has to be.

2 responses to “Cat psychology

  1. kate March 6, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    or you coulda just done what i do and run at it going ‘raaaaaar’ and wielding a water pistol …
    doesn’t alter the ‘top cat’ point though.
    our cats are runts, right?!

  2. Rachel March 7, 2008 at 10:52 am

    I have that inter-personal (cat-onal?) dynamic going on with the tabby cat…

Leave a Reply

