Warm and lazy

I’ve spent far too many years of my life living in flats that overlook lovely, perfectly useable patches of garden that aren’t open to me but aren’t used by the ungrateful bastards who can. In hot weather like this, it was torture. When I finally did get my own garden it was moving into autumn, and the following summer was – well, to call it “summer” is probably to fall foul of trades descriptions – the following year’s nominated summer months were awful. So having the garden to enjoy now is blissful, especially being off work. I think if I’d been sick this long in any of the places I’ve lived before, I would be experiencing a severe form of cabin fever. Instead, I’m out on the lounger and under the parasol, turning a shade of brown I haven’t seen since the last time I had an enforced summer out of work. It’s all very soothing, although I think it’s curdling my brain instead of gently restoring it… I was trying to work out a Shakespeare-influenced post, using the template of “Idle pratings with my midnight-colour’d cat” or somesuch, about the weekend’s trip to Stratford-upon-Avon to see Hamlet, but the heat isn’t having any of it. When I do write something, it certainly will not be in iambic pentameter.

So instead, I’ve picked up Del’s invite to a meme and in turn throw open the invitation to anyone else:

1. Your cell phone? Ancient
2. Your significant other? Waiting
3. Your hair? Growing
4. Your mother? Patient
5. Your father? Silly
6. Your favourite thing? Peace
7. Your dream last night? Tennant
8. The room you’re in? Warm
9. Your fear? Wasps
10. What you’re not? Graceful
11. The last thing you did before logging on? Pee
12. Where did you grow up? Suburbia
13. Favourite drink? Wifebeater
14. What are you wearing? Cotton
15. Your TV? Recording
16. Your pet? Worrisome
17. Your computer? Basic
18. Favourite place? Bed
19. Your mood right now? Weary
20. Missing someone? No
21. Something you’re not wearing? Socks
22. Love someone? Several
23. Your favorite color? Purple
24. Kids? Never
25. Your life? Paused

2 responses to “Warm and lazy

  1. Les July 28, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    OMG (again)… I have dreams of Tennant too!

  2. Rachel July 29, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Hehe – go see Hamlet, you’ll be plagued by dreams of being part of a “travelling company of players”, also including Mr Tennant đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

