If only this could be rolled out to everyone

I went back to work on Monday – reduced hours initially, and a day off midweek known as a "rest day", a wonderful concept if ever I heard one. I was told I'd need such a day because the shock of being in the office and concentrating for long periods of time would be draining. Damn right, as it transpires.

Yesterday wasn't too bad, I felt perky and cleared out my emails with no bother. But by 10.30 last night I was dropping asleep on the sofa and today my brane had turned to lumpy slop in my head, threatening to seep out my nostrils and ears and be far more useful in procuring me gainful employment as an extra in a horror movie than doing its job and providing actual cognitive function. Tomorrow is going to be a welcome rest (and yes, I am aware of the irony of complaining about being shattered and, yet, be blogging at midnight).

It's funny, how quickly you get used to certain ways of living. I've never been off work for this long before – even when I was made redundant I was only unemployed for two months, and one of those was spent being flummoxed by Americans. So to have two and a half months to simply flop was an unknown. I mean, it's not like I spent the time scratching my arse; I went swimming, read books and did most of the things on my list and more… but my brain did shut down to an extent. And a lot of stuff kind of fell out of it (names, processes, passwords). I'm not going to pretend I'm overjoyed to be back in the office but I was starting to get bored of having to amuse myself all day, every day, so in a sense it's a relief to be back to some kind of normality.

Still. A rest day. Bloody marvellous idea. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

