Poo

While I was out painting earlier my nose was assailed by the sweet scent of sewage. We clearly have a bit of an ongoing problem in our street (although Thames Water nor the Council can figure out where) and it's something I'm becoming grumpily resigned to, but that doesn't explain all the other places in London where I'm suddenly smelling the same thing. You know the stink: eggy, sulphurous. It suddenly seems to be everywhere, all over town, cropping up suddenly and then disappearing a few hours later.

Thames Water's website doesn't have much to say about sewage, other than reminding us yet again not to pour fat down the drains. Is it a seasonal thing? I don't recall it being this bad in other years. Maybe I'm just more attuned to the stench these days. Or have London's sewers suddenly decided they've had enough? The Victorian revenge?

Maybe it's part of an attempt to cosmopolitanise London? I've blogged previously about the odour of l'urine that hangs around Paris in the mornings. I know we're trying to encourage a cafe culture to blossom on these shores but is apeing the olfactory reminder of micturation really the best way to go?

2 responses to “Poo

  1. Ant October 19, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    And you say this smell follows you around? I’ve got a working theiry, but you’re not going to like it 😀 😀

  2. Rachel October 20, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I’d say it was the odour of cat pee, but I’m hoping that won’t happen until I’m about 70…

Leave a Reply

