A note on naming

The more eagle-eyed among you might have spotted that I am no longer simply 'bagelmouseuk'. I have morphed into 'rachel bagelmouse'. I've been pondering the anonymity of the blog for a few weeks now; the main purpose of that anonymity originally being to prevent employers finding it and sacking me for my intolerance towards, say, Christians. Having no employer this is no longer a consideration. Blogging at Londonist I felt it was important to have a 'real' identity since it's somebody else's site. And… well, when I do eventually get round to looking for new work, do I really want it to be for any company that wouldn't be comfortable with my status as a blogger? Do I want to work for a company whose corporate identity is so rigid and po-faced it can't accept a bit of blogging individuality? So I'm starting to emerge onto the interweb in my real form.

It's not pretty. I do apologise.

What do we think about anonymity on the web? Just how linked up would you want your internet presence to be? I don't even publicise this blog on Facebook (family members, etc; though I'm sure I can block that somehow). Thoughts, abuse, in the usual place plz.

2 responses to “A note on naming

  1. Marie December 11, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I wouldn’t worry about it. My identity is totally out there on my blog and I’ve sold maybe 100,000 books worldwide, so in theory all those readers could be turning up to hang on my every word. The reality is that I get a couple of hundred readers a day and nobody gives a toss about what I have to say about anything… To be clear: this is the way I like it.

  2. Rachel Holdsworth December 12, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Heh, many more readers than me 🙂 What I forgot to say above is that I have been bitten before; a previous employer with, clearly, far too much time on his hands Googled an old website of mine and got really huffy about it. Londonist is absolutely going on my CV to prove I haven’t spent my unemployment eating sandwiches and watching The West Wing DESPITE the arrival of my shiny new boxset but I think I shall leave it at that…
    (By the way: Marie Phillips, everyone! Read her book. Is wonderful.)

Leave a Reply

