A nice day

I don't usually do the blog-as-diary post, but I've had The Nicest Afternoon. In pursuit of content for Londonist I visited Persephone Books and Treadwells. At Persephone they gave me a tour of their 18th century cellars and we had a lovely chat about the history of their press and shop, and at Treadwells I got a cup of tea and a splendid chinwag with the owner. I love small bookshops, they have a beautifully genteel vibe about them. Persephone is an oasis of dove-grey calm, while Treadwells is a fabulous coven (almost literally) of books and objects about paganism, wicca, alternative beliefs, cultural history and the like. Oh, and a section on cats. And the location for a group that reads one Shakespeare play every month. I'd go on about it, but I have to save something for Londonist, right?

In Covent Garden piazza I had an in-depth discussion over the A-Z with a couple of tourists about the best way to get to the British Museum (the old adage: 'well, I wouldn't start from here'. Too many twisty streets if you haven't got a map of your own…) and in Lush I heard the tale of the staff member who'd been at home with a yellow face mask and green hair mask on when his flatmate came home, who erupted with laughter for the next two hours. I enjoyed a double chocolate cupcake at Candy Cakes and then finally, to my joy, learned the name of one of my favourite pieces of classical music. In typical Covent Garden fashion, there was a quintet entertaining the crowds and I collared the guy who was asking for donations. (It's Pachelbel's Canon in D, if you're interested. No, I'd never heard of Pachelbel either.)

I can't remember the last time I had such a companionable day. It's so rare to make connections with people in London yet it happened all over the place today. And now I'm going to top it off by making scones.

5 responses to “A nice day

  1. Persephone January 30, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Okay, if you were unaware that your favourite piece of music is Pachelbel’s Canon, then you are also unaware of Rob Paravonian’s classic (in all senses of the word) Pachelbel Rant. If my link works, watch it. Now.

  2. Nick January 30, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    It’s the theme to Barry Lyndon is Canon in D.

  3. Rachel January 30, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Persephone – that’s fricking hilarious, thank you for sharing! I should never meet that comedian in real life though, as I adore that bass line. (A beautiful bass line is a beautiful thing.)
    Nick – despite my former life as a film reviewer, I have never seen Barry Lyndon. I have some unresolved issues with Stanley Kubrick that would probably take a lifetime of therapy to work out.

  4. Nick January 31, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Ah it’s a great film.
    Except for tiny little thing – Kubrick, the man obbessed to a fault with perfection and detail, a man who had to have everything just right, picks as his star an American who comes out with one of the worst Irish accents in film history.
    Why Stanley, why!?!?

  5. Persephone February 1, 2009 at 12:16 am

    I think the bass line is the key to its popularity. After all, Blues Traveler’s take on Pachelbel’s Canon (which Rob Paravonian sings in his rant) is entitled “Hook” which is what all these songs definitely have!
    I remember Barry Lyndon as being like watching a beautiful painting for three hours, with a fifteen-minute intermission. I think it must have been one of the last feature films to have an intermission. I mean, I like looking at beautiful paintings at length, but three hours is a bit much…

Leave a Reply

