Re-joining the commuter masses

After not having worked a full five day week since June (June!), I've got me one of those jobs things again. Just a contract for a couple of months, and nothing particularly taxing. OK, so the interviewer described it as "incredibly dull" but
a) kudos to the guy for being upfront
b) I've done a similar project before so at least I know the score and
c) it's probably for the best that my first job in eight months isn't something complicated and project managery that requires a lot of strategic thinking. This will be nice work to ease back in gently.

Plus, it's in London Bridge. 25 minute door to desk commute, baby! And now I can finally buy the things I promised myself I'd buy when I started earning again. Professional hair colouring. That cinnamony Lush shower gel that's so new it isn't even on the website. Some new underwear. And a netbook. Ohh, a netbook. I'm going to spend some very happy hours in electronics stores over the next couple of weeks.

5 responses to “Re-joining the commuter masses

  1. Liz February 25, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Cinnamony shower gel?? Why have I not heard of this before?
    Oh, and congratulations on the job thing ; )

  2. chiclit February 26, 2009 at 3:30 am

    North American lurker here; I too am going back to work -and have been off since May. I am not sure I can do it! And my little newly adopted dog is in for a real shock since our schedule has for months been based around her! I hope they have the cinnamon shower gel at my Lush, I have been using outlet mall Crabtree and Evelyn during the frugal times. Congratulations.

  3. Rachel February 26, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Hello lurker!! Always nice to have people say hello 🙂
    I’m starting to think I imagined this shower gel, especially as Liz was with me when I saw it… it appears only to be in the Covent Garden Lush in London at the moment. I spent five minutes wandering around Regent Street yesterday, double checking all the bottles.
    I’m preparing for a massive hissy fit from El Mog, too. Ah, pets. They have no idea how lucky they are, do they?

  4. Will February 26, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Yeah I really hope my brain manages to kick back in again. I know the first few days are gonna be massively hard, especially having just landed in a foreign country, but maybe I can blame some sluggishness on that. Hope you manage to find something more permanent too.

  5. Rachel February 26, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    I’m actually seriously considering doing this freelance lark for a while… the pay is good because you’re being compensated for the unpredictability and the chance to have a few weeks off between assignments (assuming work is fairly regular) AND you accrue holiday as you work. Sounds perfect to me!

Leave a Reply

