Putting things off

Long weekend? Great. I've been quite busy for the last couple of weeks and there's a lot of things I need to do. Paint the bathroom (which is something I've already been putting off for a year), but before I do that I need to give the walls a good scrub (patches of mould, hence the need for anti-mould paint). Hmm, before I do that I should do the thorough spring clean of the flat that it does really need. No point cleaning one bit of the house if there's so much dust and fluff around to track back in. Mmm, but I'm quite tired so maybe I'll do that tomorrow and spend today relaxing. And of course I can't paint the fence because it looks like it's going to rain. Neither do I want to go to the gym today – it might not be open because it's a bank holiday and it's a long way to go to be confronted with a shuttered door. I'll just sit around today, watch some PVR'd TV and read last Saturday's Guardian.

And then tomorrow I'll read tomorrow's Guardian and come up with more excuses for reasons not to do anything. And by Monday evening I'll still be sitting in an unpainted flat full of papers and cat fluff and I'll hate myself.

2 responses to “Putting things off

  1. Nick April 11, 2009 at 12:07 am

    No long weekend for me but I do get DOUBLE pay. Oh yeah! £13 p/h puts a smile on my face.

  2. Kate April 11, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Heh. Welcome to my world! ‘I really need to do my OU assignment … but before I can settle to that, I should get the washing on … but before I put the washing on, I should stack the dishwasher … and I should go shopping and to the gym now rather than later … ah feck …’

Leave a Reply

