A public warning

If you happen to be out and about using public transport, and you happen to be accompanied by a brood of, say, 4 or more children under the age of, say 7, here's a tip. Try and keep them all together, right? Today was the second time in as many weeks I've been faced with a family spread completely blocking the path. First was a couple of weeks ago on the DLR, a group of 8 ambling up the width of the stairs, completely ignoring all calls to "excuse me" despite a train being in the platform; second was this morning, a group of about 7, all armed with tiny bloody wheely suitcases. Some of the kids were clustered round the top of the only down escalator at London Bridge while the rest sauntered up behind, oblivious to the fact that me and another person were also stood at the top and couldn't get around any of them.

What the fuck? I hate to sound like I am 80 and made of tweed, but here I go. When I were a lass, right, my mother would've given me a belt round t'head if I'd blocked up t'passage like that. These days, nowt's said. (Oh yes, and it were all fields round here back then.) Next time I will not wait, I will just trample you.

(Also a bit weird today; within the space of two minutes while waiting for a Northern Line train, two unconnected women came up to me and asked if this was the Jubilee line. Both were confused by the arrow pointing along, thinking it meant 'come, come into this platform'. I started to doubt my own London knowledge. This is what you do to us, tourists!)

One response to “A public warning

  1. SallyB September 3, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    I actually think prams ought to be banned. And I’m not made of tweed either. 😉

Leave a Reply

