Foot update: the A&E chapter

I just spent a surprisingly pleasant hour and a half in A&E, trying for a diagnosis of my foot. I say trying, because I failed. I had another x-ray but there's nothing to see – this is one of the annoying aspects of stress fractures. X-rays don't pick up the breaks until the new bone starts to calcify (whatever the hell that is), and bearing in mind I've only had the boot a week, it's possible there's not been enough time for the bone to start healing. Or perhaps it's not even a break at all – A&E gave me a referral to a biomechanics clinic – but, given the position and history, it's still the most likely candidate. But I don't know, I'm not a fricking doctor. What I could really do with now is an MRI scan, but that's not going to happen on the NHS, especially not after two negative x-rays.

*sigh* So, I continue wearing the boot (even if it's not fractured, my foot is still painful and I doubt I could walk without it now) and I'm going to keep those mid-December appointments at the fracture clinic because – let's face it – I'll probably not have a diagnosis before then, and there should be something for an x-ray to see in a month. You would think.

I really have to sing the praises of Lewisham Hospital, though. I've had lousy experiences in A&E in the supposedly amazing Royal Free in Hampstead, where I waited for four or five hours in a dingy room on painfully uncomfortable chairs; whereas Lewisham – recently threatened with closure – registered me immediately, sent me off to the appropriate area, saw me within forty minutes, x-rayed me within five and got the results back within ten. In fact, the most time I wasted was getting thoroughly lost trying to find the A&E x-ray department. This is because I cannot listen to directions or tell my left from my right. It doesn't help. Everyone was cheery and helpful, and I wish I'd gone there weeks ago. Not that it would have made any damn difference to my situation, but at least I'd have been spared the Choose and Book nightmare.

Leave a Reply

