Alternatively: humanity is awesome

Yesterday (or this morning; ouch) I may have given the impression of being deeply in loathe with large segments of our common species. Mmm, maybe the jury’s still out on those that comprise the baying hoards. But you people? You’re amazing.

More specifically, Clare / @clogsilk is amazing. She read the post about my deceased uplighter (the photo it gave its life for, by the way, is the one you can see here, or in its usual home on Londonist’s literary listings each week. It probably wasn’t worth the sacrifice. Not in terms of the books – the books are great* – but in terms of my average photography). Clare saw my mitherings about having to go to Croydon to replace it and, since she was heading to Ikea anyway, offered to not only pick a new one up for me but also drop it round to my flat. Which she did earlier, even though she’d had a rubbish day.

Let’s be clear: Clare and I had never met before this evening. We’re relatively new followers on Twitter. I am always astonished and humbled by acts of generosity from strangers, and I think this is a pretty good one. Clare: I salute and thank you.

* In case you’re wondering, or can’t make them out, the books are:

  • Simon Armitage, All Points North
  • Mark Haddon, A Spot of Bother
  • Julian Barnes, The Lemon Table
  • Ali Smith, The Accidental
  • Jonathan Coe, What a Carve Up!
  • Catherine O’Flynn, What Was Lost
  • Marie Phillips, Gods Behaving Badly
  • AL Kennedy, Paradise
  • Hari Kunzru, My Revolutions
  • Robert Hudson, The Kilburn Social Club

I will probably put this list on Londonist at some point as well

3 responses to “Alternatively: humanity is awesome

  1. Mike Jarman December 5, 2009 at 6:25 am

    How heartening….I’m trying to resist… No, I can’t , “How enlightening” – sorry! There really are some grand people out there.
    Looking at you little pile of books reminded me of Barne’s ‘A History of the World in 10½ Chapters ‘ I think it’s about time I take it off the bookshelf again.

  2. Clare December 5, 2009 at 9:04 am

    Happy to help! (and looking forward to my parkin tonight)

  3. Max December 5, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    I can clearly see you and Clare hugging on an Ektorp in the next Ikea catalogue.

Leave a Reply

