Vend me drunk

I have been busy booking hotels and flights to Japan and Sydney, since discovering that I'd left it almost too late to find anywhere vaguely affordable in Kyoto (that's sakura season for you; for a while I considered staying in Osaka and travelling in using the rail pass, but in the end decided that would be insane). Thankfully it's all worked out although, thanks to third party websites, my credit card is now creaking at the seams. *shrugs* It'll work out somehow. For the second stint in Tokyo I've booked the Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, on the recommendation of Tom Royal – who's just told me the hotel has whisky vending machines on each floor.

I stand corrected. That's insane.

I don't really drink spirits, ever since the infamous vodka-soaked boat party of 1998 (and let's not discuss what happens when I down just one shot of tequila or sambucca, eh?), but this is something that, I suspect, may bear further investigation.

If there are a succession of bizarre tweets one day in early April, early afternoon UK time, you'll know what happened.

7 responses to “Vend me drunk

  1. Tom January 10, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    You won’t regret the credit card pain, trust me. Japan is just amazing to see.
    And speaking of amazing, what a photo – vending bottles, no less! The ones at the Sunroute were a kind of whole-bar-in-a-box affair, serving just about any drink rather than just spirits. I did attempt an Asahi Clear:
    http://www.asahibeer.co.jp/clear/
    .. which is honestly one of the worst things I’ve ever had the misfortune to drink, but couldn’t quite bring myself to go the whole hog and have a whisky. I’m no connoisseur, but I’m pretty sure the finest malts are not served in, well, a can.
    Incidentally the sheer range of vending machines in Japan is mindbogging, but my favourite, purely on the basis of location, has to be this one:
    Meiji Jingu, Tokyo: Gyoen Vending
    That’s in the middle of the formal gardens of the Meiji Shrine. Like putting a Coke machine in a cathedral. Marvellous.

  2. Rachel January 10, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Whisky in a can? Oh, this gets better and better!

  3. Nick January 11, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    My local wine and spirits shop (I won’t call it an offie because that would conjur up the wrong image) sells, amongst its vast selection of whiskey, whiskey from Japan. Christ knows what it is like, but it certainly looks interesting.

  4. Rachel January 11, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Is it Suntory whisky? If it is, you will find me down there tomorrow rasping “Suntory time! Bob-san!”

  5. Nick January 12, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Not sure. They have quite a few. One is Yamazaki.

  6. Tom January 12, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Yamazaki is indeed the aforementioned Suntory whisky – Japan’s mega-conglomorates all seem to own a whisky brand, plus a beer company, plus a coffee in a can firm etc. It’s also rather nice. For the full horror of the related adverts, though, hunt down the Georgia Coffee adverts made by David Lynch and starring the cast of Twin Peaks. No joke.

  7. Nick January 12, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Wow! All adverts should be like that! It is like being on one hallucinogenic then suddenly cutting to another, yet this time there is coffee!

Leave a Reply

