Volcano update: still a week to go

Hooray! The airports are open! So am I on my way home? Of course not. I spent three hours on hold to Etihad's 24 hour call centre in Abu Dhabi last night (eventually giving up at 2.15am – I dread to think of the phone bill, which I am of course repaying), and instead went to the local Etihad office this morning. Which, naturally, was completely empty.

There's a lovely woman there doing all she can to get me on a flight home, but everything up to Monday is block-booked by the airline for the people stranded in Abu Dhabi itself (these are the people who arrived before Etihad stopped flying anyone in who couldn't guarantee they could get out again). She hoped she could get me on something on Monday, but called a short time later to say there was nothing doing. The airline haven't released anything beyond Monday yet, so I have to wait to hear when she's managed to find me a space. My instructions to her? The earliest possible flight, please.

In the meantime: there are far, far worse places and situations to be in – especially as I just discovered that Will has a way of making iPlayer work, and can screen it on their massive TV. Tomorrow they're out at a ball, so I plan to spend a rather delicious evening with the Doctor. And then I might be able to catch up on Marie's blog

2 responses to “Volcano update: still a week to go

  1. Kate April 21, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Yay for Will and technology!
    I’d sit tight, you’re not missing much except pandamonium and whingeing …

  2. Rachel April 21, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    What I’d really like is to be home by Wednesday morning, then I should be able to see my parents for a little bit before they catch their own flight home – even if we just meet at a sandwich shop on the platform at London Bridge!

Leave a Reply

