It’s all kicking off in Lewisham Deptford

I'm still going through my pile of post, so I hadn't seen Joan Ruddock's letter to me, "introducing" herself (I'm in the ward being added to the constituency but, from what I gather, some of her longstanding constituents wouldn't mind an introduction either). But a quick tweet from Brockley Central had me diving for my mail. Here it is…

"I understand that political scandals have greatly affected people's respect for politicians but I have always acted with integrity and stuck to my principles – voting against the government going to war in Iraq"

Well, not according to Max Calo. If you don't live around here, you may not be aware that for several years Max has been one of the most active community campaigners we have – instrumental in keeping Ladywell pool open and the campaign to keep Hither Green's old Art Deco cinema from redevelopment, which in its turn has led to a community and arts group being formed, and a regular cinema day. Which for Hither Green is a massive deal. He is a thoroughly good bloke, and has decided to stand for election to Lewisham council as a Lib Dem. If there is any justice in this world, he'll get in. (This, kids, is why I'm voting Lib Dem for council – Max and Andrew Milton are fabulously responsive. Unlike the fabulously unresponsive Joan Ruddock, whose campaign wouldn't deign to give me a comment for Londonist. They said it wouldn't be appropriate to comment against a full interview with another candidate and, while I can kind of see their point, I suspect if I'd been from the Times we wouldn't have been having that conversation. Screw you, locals.)

Anyway, yes. Max points out – in the Guardian, no less – that Ms Ruddock's claim about Iraq is bollocks. Joan Ruddock says it isn't. I suggest you read the comments on both articles for a discussion about what exactly voting for an amendment means in the grander scheme of things (sorry, I have to go out).

Maybe I'll have a better view on whether the local campaigns have been "wholly negative" (according to my MP) once I get through my mail, but all my contact with the local Labour party to date has been negative, whereas the only positive things I see being done are via the Greens and Lib Dems. You can see why people are pouncing on stuff like this. (Incidentally: again, I don't have time to sit here and work through Joan Ruddock's record as Minister for Energy and Climate Change, but I find it odd that a constituency with an environmental Minister has such strong support for the Greens.)

2 responses to “It’s all kicking off in Lewisham Deptford

  1. Kate April 30, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Arse about tit – Joan is an environment minister in order to counter the fact that she has a strong Green presence locally. That’s the price of her disgustingly subordinate, blindly pig-headed support of the government in every vote ever, more or less. As I said on BrockleyCentral, what point is there exactly in having an MP if they’re simply a Labour Party puppet?!
    There seems a reasonable chance that Bullock, at least, will be kicked out, even if we can’t take down Ruddock.

  2. Max May 1, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Really, really hard to find the right word, thanks will have to do, hope it shows that it’s a really big one.
    I bet JR is worried.

Leave a Reply

