Getting closer

I can't believe I'm saying this, but I'm finding the election quite exciting. Perhaps it's because I'm only experiencing the final, climactic week, but I think not… I agree with Chris Addison in the Times today (of course I agree with Chris Addison, he is my TV boyfriend, after all) that what's causing the excitement is the idea that this election might actually be different. Basically, that we might get a hung Parliament. Screw you Cameron, this is what the electorate want, and you won't hector and patronise us into behaving. Hopefully. (By the way, that previous link goes to the excellent election blog run by the School of Politics and International Relations at – hurray! – the University of Nottingham.)

Also, being unemployed for the first time during a general election (1997 was slightly different; yes I was a student, but I was still in halls so all I had was my radio) I can stay up all night to watch it happen. (It's nice that I get to do this with my own country after I stayed up for Obama.) And watch it with booze, cos hell knows I think it'll be needed. There's a place in Kings Cross I'm heading for but I also – sheepishly – really want to watch Charlie Brooker on Channel 4. I guess I need to find a houseparty to invite myself to. *looks around hopefully*

5 responses to “Getting closer

  1. Nick May 3, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I’ve booked a days holiday this Friday.
    There is going to Mexican night in this house so I shall be drinking plently of Tequila.
    http://www.thewhiskyexchange.com/P-4872.aspx
    I am not actually voting but I do think that this election is a once in a genration chance for genuine politcal reform and final abandonment of FPTP.
    So long as no one wins that is.

  2. Kate May 3, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    But also, right, no offence but you’ve been on 3 other continents while the rest of us have been putting up with that bullshit. I was quite excited too, but now it’s worn me down. I feel almost ready to submit cynically and suicidally to a Cameron government, that’s how sick of all the bullshit I am.

  3. Rachel May 3, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Well, that’s why the second sentence qualifier is there… 🙂

  4. Kate May 3, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    PS. You’re welcome to come to mexican night if you like! It doesn’t start til 12 tho (we’re both getting some sleep in the evening, first). I can’t promise the food will be any good, but I can promise that there’ll be a lot of swearing …

  5. Kate May 3, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    PPS. Also, we’ll be going til 5 or 6am, so feel free to come round later if you’re elsewhere first.
    I’m just glad I’m not working this time – for a change. Remember 2001? We were living in Golders Green. I covered Bethnal Green & Bow, then had a Tory-voting taxi driver who took me home. Then I stayed up for the rest of the night watching the TV coverage on that grotty sofa.

Leave a Reply

