WOAH fucking woah

There’s something about having a personal connection to a news story that makes it more real, isn’t there? When you hear a familiar name or place on the news and your head snaps round. It shouldn’t, but humans are quite self-centred creatures.

I’ve not being paying much attention to the two bodies found in Bradford last week (I’ve not been watching much news at all for a few days; am stupidly busy) but I do remember Channel 4 News describing the area as ‘remote‘. Probably up in the Pennines, then, I thought. Way out the other side of Bradford, middle of nowhere. Nope; the bodies were dumped in New Lane in Tong.

I can see from the blank looks on your faces that means nothing to you.

Fine.

Tong is: where the cattery is we used to leave Felix
Tong is: a 15 minute yomp across the fields from my old house
Tong is: the location of the Holiday Inn where my cousin got married
Tong is: here, for fuck’s sake

First thought, obviously: woah, that’s right where I grew up. Second thought: this ‘remote’ crap really isn’t helping dispel the illusion that I grew up in some bucolic idyll. ‘Village’ yes; green and pleasant no. I realise this isn’t the biggest concern about the story but, dammit, I have a reputation for grim up north to maintain.

Leave a Reply

