30 Day Song Challenge: Day 4 – a song that makes you sad

As I banged on about yesterday, I tend not to listen to songs that make me sad (why would I deliberately set out to bring myself down?). There are a few exceptions, however; songs that are so beautiful it doesn’t matter that they make me borderline suicidal.

REM – E-Bow the Letter
Noah and the Whale – First Days of Spring (here purely for the association of playing it just after Elgar’s initial lymphoma diagnosis because it had happy memories – coming up in Day 6, folks – but instead of being perked up, I collapsed into a sobbing heap in the middle of the kitchen)

But today’s winner is from an album I haven’t listened to in years, but got as an ohrwurm the other week. All day this went round in my head. By the evening I was pretty desperate…

Leave a Reply

