30 Day Song Challenge: Day 13 – a song that is a guilty pleasure

Robin Ince has a thing or two to say about guilty pleasures. Overhearing a man on a train going on about watching some TV show or other and saying “I know I shouldn’t watch it. Ooo, I know I shouldn’t, but it’s a guilty pleasure, isn’t it?” Robin says this: if you think something is shit, don’t watch it, or listen to it, or read it. If you enjoy watching or listening or reading it, do it. Just don’t call it a guilty pleasure. Life is too short for doing things you acknowledge are shit.

I love Robin Ince. I always leave his shows wanting to be a better person.

Some people might categorise this song as a guilty pleasure. I don’t. I think it’s just brilliant.

Edit: Just noticed that whoever put this YouTube video up can’t spell Phil OakEY’s name…

Leave a Reply

