Birthday solipsism

Tell me you haven’t looked at lists of famous people who share your birthday and I’ll tell you you’re a liar. Growing up, I thought 17th January was a bit of a shit birthday because, well:

  • Al Capone
  • Keith Chegwin
  • Paul Young
  • Popeye

Though I’ll give you Muhammad Ali. Turns out all you have to do to have a cool birthday is grow a bit older and wait for people in (roughly) your own generation to become famous. Or to learn to appreciate the people who were there anyway. Now I know I share my birthday with Michelle Obama, Zooey Deschanel, Lukas Moodysson, Joshua Malina, Anne Bronte, Benjamin Franklin and Eartha Kitt (I’m still ignoring Kid Rock, Larry Fortensky and Shabba Ranks; my jury is out on Jim Carrey and I just keeled over with boredom at David Lloyd George. British history after the Union is simply not my period, dahling).

Leave a Reply

